top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSam Aberle

Moreno Press Release Addresses Scandal

Updated: Apr 29, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: CONTACT: Miles Tiemeyer


APRIL 26TH, 2019


TO MY CONSTITUENTS

Recently, I have been attacked by my fellow candidates for my involvement in campaign donations. In 2016, I attended several events for former Ohio Governor and Senate Candidate Sam Trickland. I believed in many of his policies and believed that he would be the best senate candidate to represent southwest Ohio and Cincinnati. He asked me to loan his campaign $10,000. As I had never loaned a campaign money before, only donated, I was unsure of what the requirements were. I asked Trickland and his campaign manager what the rules were, and they responded with the only responsibility was on their end, I had to do nothing. This is similar to how campaign donations are handled so I believed them. I later learned that I was deliberately lied to. Trickland and his campaign lied to me in order to try and gather as much money as possible. I recognize that I should have been responsible and done my own research, but I thought I could trust our former Governor.


Because of this experience I have been extremely carful in all further donations. I have also learned to approach most politicians with a little hesitation. This is how I approached Senator Gortman after these lies from Governor Trickland. I approached him to talk about his plans for Southwest Ohio, instead of asking me for money, he told me about his plans to improve our region. I was so impressed with his plan, I chose to donate to his campaign, unsolicited. I grew to trust Senator Gortman just as I trust my dear friend Senator Blue. I believe that my mistakes have changed me for the better. This experience has made me a better advocate for the people of Cincinnati. This situation has pushed me to want more for our city. That is what I set out to do when I decided to run for City Council. I hope you agree with me and vote for me on Monday


Yours,


Larry

###

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Interview with Rita Daniel

Rita Daniel, a voter in the International Relations class, shared her thoughts on the election with the Daily Dishrag in the following...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page